Seong Yu-jin kept the lead for two consecutive days at the LPGA Tour Lotte Championship (total prize money of 2 million dollars).

On the 15th (Korean time) on the 3rd day of the tournament held at Hoakalay CC (par 72) in Eva Beach, Oahu, Hawaii, USA, Eugene Sung hit 1 under par 71 with 2 birdies and 1 bogey.

Seong Yu-jin, who recorded a total of 9 under par and 207 strokes for three days, became the sole leader by one stroke from a tie for first place the previous day.

Seong Yu-jin won the Lotte Open of the Korea Women’s Professional Golf (KLPGA) Tour last year and appeared as an invited player in this tournament. If Seong Yu-jin wins, the LPGA Tour non-member champion will emerge for the first time in eight months since Maya Stark (Sweden) at the ISPS Handa World Invitational last August.

A recent example of a Korean player’s non-member win on the LPGA Tour is Kim A-lim at the December 2020 US Women’s Open. The last time an invited player won an LPGA Tour event was Lydia Ko (New Zealand) at the Canadian Pacific Women’s Open in August 2013, about 10 years ago.

If Eugene Sung wins this tournament and she immediately accepts membership on the LPGA Tour, she will earn her rookie status for the 2023 season. She also said she waited until the end of the season and she might become a member starting in the 2024 season.메이저놀이터

Seong Yu-jin said, “The course is difficult and windy, so I tried to play as easily as possible.” She said, “With one more day left, I will focus on showing my golf skills rather than thinking about winning.”

Grace Kim (Australia), Georgia Hall (England), and Linea Strom (Sweden) are tied for 2nd place with 8 under par and 208 strokes, one stroke away.

Korean player Christina Kim (USA) tied for 5th place with Hataoka Nasa (Japan) with a 7 under par 209 strokes.

Christina Kim, who has 3 wins on the LPGA Tour, is aiming for the ‘Top 10’ tour competition in 2 years and 6 months after a tie for 10th at the Shoprite Classic in October 2020.

Choi Hye-jin and Hwang Yoo-min, sponsored by Lotte, finished the third round with a 3-under-par 213 strokes and a tie for 18th place. Kim Hyo-joo, who won the tournament last year, is tied for 47th with a 1-over par of 217 strokes.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *